> ## Knowledge Base Index
> Fetch the complete knowledge base index at: https://help.spacesedu.com/sitemap.xml
> Use this file to discover available pages before exploring further.
> Pure-Markdown content can be obtained by appending a '.md' suffix to the content URLs listed in the sitemap (without the trailing slash).

# Why is the Reporting Space locked for editing?

In some classes, more than one co-teacher might be working on the reporting space at the same time. To prevent collisions between updates from different teachers:

1. **When a teacher is editing the reporting space for an individual student,** this blocks other teachers from making changes to the report for **that student**
2. **When a teacher is editing the Reporting Space Settings,** for example to add or remove Areas of Learning, this blocks other teachers from making changes to the report for **all students**

![Gif of the Reporting Space](https://storage.crisp.chat/users/helpdesk/website/15d48e7dea53bd00/b97471ba-05b6-4576-a571-6268f4_4x6fzq.gif)

Without this lock in place, teachers could unintentionally overwrite or erase their co-teachers' changes. The indications shown in the reporting space when it is locked for editing should be near real-time, as long as your Internet connection remains stable.

There are a few important considerations for teachers using the reporting space, particularly in a class with more than one active teacher:

1. We recommend you [configure the areas of learning and additional supports for the reporting space first](https://spacesedu.crisp.help/en-ca/article/how-do-i-add-to-a-reporting-space-ggn8jk), before teachers begin using it to enter comments.
2. If you do need to edit the reporting space settings later on: check that no reporting spaces are already locked for editing, and try to save your changes as quickly as possible, since other teachers will be locked out from **all students'** reporting spaces as long as you have the settings panel open (for up to 1h30m).
3. If you're making changes to a student's report, make sure to *save them as soon as they are complete*! Not only will you be locking other teachers out of editing the reporting space for that student, but even if you're the *only* teacher for the class, **edits are** **not** **auto-saved, and will be lost after 1 hour and 30 minutes of inactivity**.

After that time, we end the editing session to avoid locking out other teachers indefinitely. This means that if you open the reporting space settings or edit a student's report, make some changes, and then leave to do something else without saving: all other teachers will be locked out of editing for the next 90 minutes, and your changes will be lost after that.

*Note: if your school uses [Multi-Term Reporting Spaces](https://help.spacesedu.com/en-ca/article/multi-term-reporting-spaces-6pkrvq/), this type of locking only applies within the currently active term. Past terms are locked for a different reason — they've been closed by an administrator to preserve historical reporting, and can't be edited by teachers at all, regardless of whether anyone else is currently working in them.*
