How do I send messages?
Messaging in SpacesEDU serves as a central hub for communication between teachers, students, and families. This article covers the different types of messaging channels, how to send direct messages, and how to manage conversation settings.
Before You Start
- The messaging feature is available exclusively for schools and districts licensing SpacesEDU Pro. For more information, contact pro@SpacesEDU.com.
- By default, all messages are set to one-way communication. You must manually enable replies if you want a two-way conversation.
Messaging Channels
Channels allow you to message a specific group of people at once. These groups are pre-defined and automatically update as new students or family members are added to your class.
Channel | Recipients |
|---|---|
Students & Families | All students and all linked family members in the class |
Families Only | All linked family members in the class |
Students Only | All students in the class |

Sending Direct Messages
Direct messages allow you to communicate with a single person or a custom group of students, teachers, and family members.
- Click the blue + Message button at the bottom right of your screen.
- Search for or select the recipients from the list. You can use the Select All option to quickly message everyone or specific groups like "All Teachers."
- Click Message at the top right.
- Enter your message in the text field. You can include text, audio, images, videos, URLs, and files.
- Click the paper plane icon or press CTRL+Enter on your keyboard to send.

Managing Conversations
You can customize your message threads to better organize your communications.
Renaming Threads
You can add or edit custom titles for direct message threads to differentiate between ongoing conversations. This title is visible to all participants in the thread.
- Open a direct message thread.
- Click the edit button (pencil icon) in the upper right corner.
- Enter the new title and save.

One-Way vs. Two-Way Messaging
Every message channel and direct message defaults to one-way messaging. You can toggle this setting at the top of any conversation banner.
Type | Icon | Description |
|---|---|---|
One-Way | Single arrow | Only teachers can send messages; recipients cannot reply. |
Two-Way | Double arrow | All participants in the thread can send messages and see each other's replies. |


Deleting Messages
Teachers have the ability to permanently delete any message they have sent.
- Open the channel or thread containing the message.
- Click the three dots at the top left of the specific message.
- Select Delete.

Read Receipts
Teachers can confirm if students and family members have read the messages they have sent.
- Open any channel or conversation in the Messages section.
- Near the bottom right of your sent message, you will see Unread, or the number of recipients that have viewed the message.
- Click the Unread or Read link to see a list of names with the specific dates and times the message was viewed.
- Toggle at the top of the page to switch between recipients who have read the message and those who have not.
Good to Know
- All teachers in a class can view all messages within the shared Channels (Students, Families, Students & Families).
- Private direct message threads are only visible to the teachers explicitly added to that thread.
- Students and family members cannot access read receipts.
- For more details on engagement, see How can I track student and family engagement?.
Updated on: 06/08/2026
Thank you!
