Messaging is one of SpacesEDU's core features - this is how you will communicate with your students, their families, and other teachers.
Let's explore the key features of messaging.
In your account you will see a Messages tab, with three Channels through which you can send messages.
Channels allow you to message a group of people at once. Channels are pre-defined, students and family members will be automatically added to their respective groups when they are added to your class.
Direct Messages allow teachers to send a message to a single student, or a combination of students, teachers, and family members. Much like posts, messages can be composed with text, audio, pictures, videos, URLs, and files.
To send direct messages:
Click the blue + Message button (bottom right of screen)
Search (or select from the list) for the student, teacher, or family member
Select Message (top right of screen)
Add your message in the text field
Click the paper plane icon to send your message (see screenshot below). You can also press CTRL+Enter on your keyboard to send your message more quickly!
Note: you can allow replies to your messages by toggling the Allow students & families to reply feature 'on', at the top of the message.
All teachers within a class can view all messages within the shared channels (Students, Families, Students & Families).
For private message threads, when selecting the recipients, teachers have the option to check off any students, family members, and/or other teachers in the class.
You can select another teacher in the class if you would like the message thread to be visible to them, but otherwise, if you have a private message thread with a parent or student, it is not visible to other teachers.
One-Way & Two-Way Messages
At the top of every message there is a banner that allows you to toggle whether you would like others to reply in the message conversation (see screenshot below)
Note: all channel messages and direct messages default to one-way messaging.
As a reminder of the type of messaging you have set up, you will see a message icon with an arrow going one direction (one way messaging) or both directions (two way messaging) on the Messages page (see screenshot below for an example of both ways)
Visibility of replies in two-way conversation
When you allow replies within a channel or in direct messages, all members of the channel will be able to see these replies.
When sending a direct message, selecting the names of different users will add them to the same group. All selected users will be able to read each other's responses to messages within this discussion.
Teachers can delete any of their own messages. To do so:
Select the Channel from which you want to delete the message
Click the 3 grey dots (top left of message)
This will permanently delete the message
As always, we would love your feedback. Start a chat in the left-hand corner of your screen to let us know your thoughts!