When you are creating a post or an activity as a teacher, you have the option of either posting to All Students or to individual selected students.

Additionally, you have the option to include all future students:

  • With the option to include all future students enabled (the default setting), that post or activity will automatically be visible to any future students that are added to the class

    • This also allows you to create content that will be visible to all of your students, even before inviting them to join, or when you've invited your students but not all of them have accepted the invitation

    • For example, you might use this for a welcome post or an activity that should still be displayed to any future students that join your class

  • With this option unchecked, the post or activity will only be visible to the students that are currently in your class

    • For example, you might have all of your current students in your Spaces class already, and want to add photos from a class trip or project that you don't want to be displayed to students that join the class later in the year

Student Access to Posts and Comments

The option to select 'all students' also affects student visibility of posts and comments.

When the Student Access Setting to allow students to view each others' posts is disabled, students will not be able to view posts created by other students or posted as an 'individual student post' by a teacher.

  • Posts that are added in a Class Space using the 'All Students' option will be visible to all students - even if the student access setting to view each other's posts is disabled

    • Student comments on these class-wide posts will also be visible, even if you have the option for students to view each other's comments disabled

  • Posts that are added by selecting an individual student in a Class Space will only be visible to other students if you have the Student Setting to see posts from other students enabled

  • Students will not be able to see each other's comments on posts that are added in an Individual Space using the All Students option

    • Only teachers will see all student comments on these posts

    • Students will only see top-level comments from teachers, and teacher replies to their own comments - not teacher replies to comments from other students

Still have questions or feedback? Start a chat in the left-hand corner of your screen to let us know your thoughts!

Did this answer your question?